oh san francisco….

my hometown was all abuzzed about getting snow this last week. apparently the last time the city experienced snowfall was in 1976, that was 35 years ago. and although san francisco can get pretty chilly during the winter months, it has never been cold enough to snow. so even the idea of possible snow was a big deal.
sad news. it didn’t snow in san francisco. there was some snow on twin peaks but nothing at sea level. I told some friends that illinois has plenty to share if they were interested.
all that talk about my hometown had me feeling a little nostalgic. I was born and raised (mostly) in san francsico, and was one of the few people who could call themselves a native. I almost left several times, for tokyo, los angeles, san diego, but something held me back. I couldn’t bear to leave it. it was the one place I could call home.this august will be two years since big C and I packed up our bags for pdx. people often ask me why did we move and my response is always “why not?” I still love san francisco, but we both felt that it was time to move on. the city didn’t have anything to offer us anymore. there is a list of reasons that encouraged the move to the pacific northwest, and we have no regrets.
san francisco still has a special place in my heart and I can’t wait to go back in june. it will be nice to see everything with a fresh set of eyes. it’s when you’re in something all of the time, you tend to overlook the beauty of what is around you. I’ve had time away and now I’m ready to come home and see what’s new.I can’t wait to see you san francisco, you still have a piece of my heart. xoxo little c
This entry was posted in san francisco. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

